Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Manage and edit photos within an album

Overview

Within an album, a variety of photo actions are available. Some actions can be applied to multiple photos at once, while others are intended for individual images. Here’s a quick overview:

Screenshot of the available actions to manage and edit photos.


Download photo

  • To download a single image: Click on the photo, then click the download icon below the larger preview in the top-right corner.

Screenshot showing the download button.

  • To download all images for an access code: Click on Manage individuals > Download original photos.
  • To download the complete album: Click Album actions > Download album in the top-right corner.

Delete photo

You can delete one or more photos by clicking on the photo and then selecting the trash can icon below the large preview.

Screenshot showing the delete button.

Note: You can delete multiple photos at once.

Select multiple photos (non-adjacent)

  • Windows: Hold the Ctrl key
  • Mac: Hold the Command (⌘) key
  • Click each photo you want to select

Select multiple photos (adjacent)

  • Click the first photo in the range
  • Hold the Shift key
  • Click the last photo in the range

Show or hide photo

Photos of QR codes are automatically hidden (shown with a crossed-out eye icon). Click the photo and then the icon to show or hide it.

Screenshot showing the hide and show button.


Edit photo details

You will find the following details:

  • Dimensions (pixels)
  • Size (MB)
  • Original name
  • Time of capture
  • PhotoID (internal ID)

You can edit the name, description, and tags. These changes only apply within GotPhoto.

Screenshot showing the photo details button.

Screenshot showing the current photo details.


Revert a replaced photo

You can now view prior versions of a photo and restore any of them- whether the photo was replaced by an integrated editing service (this includes the automated retouching service) or by you manually.

Reverting is non-destructive: restoring a version doesn’t delete history, it creates a new version instead. This works the same way whether you replaced the photo manually or an editing service overwrote it.

Within an album, select the image you would like to replace and click the replace icon underneath the bigger preview on the right.

Individuals section with sorted photos, access codes, and the reset icon in the detail panelThen, click the previous version that you'd like to restore and press the Restore button.
Restore previous version dialog listing a saved photo version with Cancel and Restore buttons

On the confirmation pop-up, press OK.
Confirmation dialog asking to restore the version, warning that the current photo will be replaced

The system will now regenerate the selected version.
Photo grid with one thumbnail still generating, highlighted, alongside the rest of the sorted photos
 Please note: the AI editing glitter icon stays visible even after a revert, to indicate that an editing service was used on this image at some point. Fees are not refunded if you revert an image to an earlier version.  
Three photo thumbnails with the sparkle icon highlighted, indicating an AI-enhanced photo

You reverted an image by mistake? No worries, you can always revert back to a past version.
Restore previous version dialog with two saved versions listed and one selected
 This feature currently works on a single photo at a time. We are looking to add additional functionality in future versions. We welcome your feedback on future improvements to this feature.

Mark as index image

Learn more about the index image function here.


Add an access code

If a QR code photo is missing, you can manually add an access code. Simply click on the photo, select Add access code, and either generate a random code or enter an existing one from the name list.

Screenshot showing how to add access code.

Screenshot showing a pop-up window where access code can be added.


Mark photo as composite

A photo can be marked as a composite, allowing you to apply special pricing for prints or downloads. Learn more about composites here. 

Screenshot showing how to mark photo as a composite.


Send photos for editing

Learn more about sending individual albums or images for editing here.

Screenshot showing how to send photos to editing.


Move photos

You can move single or multiple photos:

  • Within an album, between the group and individual photo sections
  • From one access code to another
  • To a different album

Screenshot showing how to move photos.

Screenshot showing details on how to move photos.


Mark photos with a 5-star rating

In orders that include a name list, selections for favorite, ID, or yearbook photos can be limited to 5-star images. If the image editing software hasn’t marked them automatically, you can manually assign the 5-star rating. Learn more about the 5-star rating here.

Screenshot showing how to mark a photo as 5-start photo.


The takeaway

These features help you efficiently manage your photo orders in GotPhoto. You can download, delete, move, edit, or mark photos for special purposes such as composites or favorite selections. Using both single and batch editing options can streamline and speed up your workflow.